KOP Network Policy Manager - Installation Profiles - Rafay Product Documentation

Installation Profiles

Overview

An installation profile is a set of parameters that are used during the setting up and installation of the Network Policy Managed Add-On (Cilium).

The Installation Profiles page shows custom and default network profiles. A default installation profile is provided that can be leveraged out of box. In cases where installation profiles need to be customized, a custom installation profile can be created.

An option to select 'None' is also available for cases where Cilium does not need to be installed in chaining mode (e.g. Cilium is the primary CNI).


Custom Installation Profiles

In certain cases, admins may want the ability to customize certain installation parameters for Cilium (e.g. for specific clusters or specific types of environment). To facilitate this, an admin can create custom installation profiles.

Parameters Supported

Creating a Custom Installation Profile

Perform the steps to create a custom installation profile:

New versions of the profile can be created by clicking New Version and going through the same workflow as above. Parameters for the installation profile can be viewed by clicking the info button under Configuration next to Spec.

Updating a Custom Installation Profile

Updating an installation profile will create a new version for the profile.

Perform the steps to update a custom installation profile:

Deleting a Custom Installation Profile

Perform the steps to delete a custom installation profile:

NOTE: If the profile is in use in a blueprint, you will not be able to delete the profile.

Using a Custom Installation Profile

Custom Installation Profiles can be selected as part of enabling Network Policy when creating or updating a blueprint.

Follow the instructions here for the Custom Blueprint Creation.

Important

When using a custom blueprint, if it inherits from a golden blueprint, then the installation profile specified in the golden blueprint cannot be overridden or deleted. This is to ensure that the golden path for installation the admin specifies is being followed.