Product Security - Projects - Rafay Product Documentation

Managing Projects

A Project allows you to organize and compartmentalize your infrastructure, user access and resources. All Organizations start life with a "Default Project". Organization Admins can create as many projects in the Organization as you like.

Important
Only Organization Admins are allowed to create Projects.


Overview

A Project is a logical "Isolation Boundary" that comprises:


Default Project

All Organizations come bootstrapped with one project called "default project". Note that this project cannot be deleted from the Org.


Create Project

To create a Project:

Once a Project is created, Administrators need to assign "Groups" and/or "Users" to it.


View Project

Organization Admins can view the list of all projects in their Organization. The project card includes the project description (if provided), making it easier for administrators to identify the purpose and context of a project directly from the organization view.


Project Dashboard

A high level dashboard is available for every project and all authorized users of a project can view it.

From the dashboard, users can export the required Cluster(s) details.

Export Cluster Data

To view the list of clusters and their details within a project, click on the respective vertical ellipsis icon.

Similarly, users can export the Violations, and Audit Logs from the project dashboard.


Switching Projects

Users that are assigned to multiple projects can switch between projects easily. The user's current project scope is displayed on the top banner. In the example below, the user is currently in the "Default Project".

To switch to another project, click on the projects dropdown and select the Project you would like to switch to. In the example below, the user has the option to switch to one of the available projects.


Update Project

Organization Admins can add/remove Groups or Users from a Project.

Note
It is generally operationally more practical to assign Groups to projects vs managing individual users in a project.


Add/Remove Group


Add/Remove Users


Delete Project

Organization Admins are allowed to Delete a Project as long as there are no resources associated to it. You will be prompted to delete the existing resources before you are allowed to delete a project.